Jim Loomis

Experiences, Observations, Opinions

WHAT’S THE BIG DEAL ABOUT LENT ANYWAY?

Ash Wednesday, the beginning of Lent

Lent….the time of year before Easter for personal reflection, prayer, and repentance.
Although, I’m not sure that I really have anything that I need to repent of.

Well….truth be told, I was not the most pleasant person to be around in 2015.
But last year I was really very congenial.

BINGO

Still…..there were those few times when I disciplined my 10 year-old son pretty harshly.
But he deserved it. He had it coming to him.

BINGO

Okay.…so I got really upset with my boss for acting like a jerk, and making us all look like fools in front of the CEO.
But I bit my tongue and never showed my anger.

BINGO

And those Presidential candidates….what a lousy choice we were given!
But I didn’t “TWEET” any derogatory comments about them, and I didn’t “LIKE” or “SHARE” or “COMMENT” on any Facebook posts that portrayed them as idiots, which they really were. I was very restrained, and I refused to fall into the mud being slung around.

BINGO

You know….I thought that Easter was all about forgiveness being freely given by God, especially for those of us who try to act like Christians.

So, what’s the point of all this repentance stuff?

WHAT’S THE BIG DEAL ABOUT LENT ANYWAY?

BINGO

WOW….Five in a row.  BINGO!  What did I win?

Oh shoot….another trip to the confessional booth.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “WHAT’S THE BIG DEAL ABOUT LENT ANYWAY?

  1. Ilah Henderson on said:

    Very good advice. I struggle with emotions when I strive for unity as opposed to joining the devisive element of society. Where is the dividing line between marching for women’s rights and accepting the status quo? How does the acceptence of mentally unstable people being allowed to have guns not make us guilty of aiding and abetting their actions? Where dors our responsibili end? Can we blame others of we stand by and allow? Answers to these questions are personal and sometimes private but always difficult.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Spiritual Adventures in the Workplace

Just another WordPress.com site

Beyond the Habit

Out of the habit, but not out of love!

THE TWELVE

Reformed. Done Daily.

A Vintage Splendor

a modern vintage style blog

